APC Wins Cross River Bye-Election

Jude Ngaji of the All Progressives Congress (APC) was proclaimed the winner of the Ogoja/Yala Federal Constituency bye-election in Cross River State by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

On Sunday at Ogoja, INEC Returning Officer John Edor declared the election results.

Mr Ngaji received 22,778 votes to defeat Mike Usibe of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who received 20,590 votes, according to Mr Edor.

In response, Alphonsus Eba, the state APC chairman, praised INEC for its work.

“The use of BVAS facilitated free and fair elections,” he said.

Mr Eba also commended President Muhammadu Buhari for signing the Electoral Act Amendment Bill, 2022, into law.

“This will surely strengthen the electoral process,” he said.

Venatius Ikem, the state PDP chairman, said his party was still studying the result of the election and would respond at the most appropriate time.

“There were discrepancies noticed during the election in many polling units but the party will respond in due course,” he said.

The election was to fill the vacuum created after Jarigbe Agom left the House of Representatives for the Senate to represent Cross River North.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here