Liverpool beat Chelsea 11-10 on penalties to win Carabao Cup

Liverpool won the League Cup for the first time in a decade on Sunday, defeating Chelsea 11-10 on penalties.

Both teams were frustrated by VAR ruling goals offside, and neither side was able to break the deadlock in 120 minutes of play.

At Wembley, the game finished 0-0 after 120 minutes after a pre-match demonstration of solidarity with the people of Ukraine following Russia’s invasion.

Before it was time for the goalkeepers to take their turn, all ten penalties had been scored, and Kepa Arrizabalaga missed after Liverpool’s Caoimhin Kelleher had scored.

Liverpool’s last domestic cup final success was the 2012 League Cup under Kenny Dalglish. Liverpool has won the Champions League in 2019 and Premier League in 2020 under Jurgen Klopp.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here